Comic-Con

Los Angeles

Los Angeles

July of 2007 I made the trek out to San Diego to attend the Comic-Con show. This was one of the most overwhelming experiences of my life

On Saturday, July 31, 2007, there was something like 150,000 people crammed into the place. It was difficult to look at anything, you just moved along with the sea of people in this kind of a human pinball machine

Anyway, I found myself at the far end of the building trying to find something to look at when I saw the Fox Studios booth; they were promoting the DVD release of Wrong Turn 2 (I didn’t know part two was made). I walked in and Henry Rollins was sitting there. I was blown away. Other than his small cameo in Heat, I hadn’t been keeping up with his film career. He stood up, we shook hands, and I was blown away at how small the dude was. Very thin, gray and he looked about 5’6” or 5’8”. My memories of him somehow put him at 7’ and bulletproof. But he was 46 and somewhat frail looking. I kept the conversation short “Big fan, bought Damaged when I was 14 or 15, and reread Get in the Van a few months back.” Henry’s response was “Cool, thanks.” It was definitely a flashback to my youth.

– Last One To Die, 2011

#michaelessington #lastonetodie

 

 

Misconceptions of Hell

Misconceptions of Hell

Leave a Reply

