Orlando

On Saturday night, before going to bed, I read about a young girl that was a performer on the show The Voice. She was shot and killed as she left the stage at a show in Orlando.

Sunday morning, I woke up to the news of 103 people being shot in a club in Orlando, 50 of the victims died.

Many of the posts that I’ve read since then have raged against guns, Muslims and a few have hinted at homosexuality being the reason for the shootings.

I understand being outraged over these killings, but sometimes the reactions seem to be grandstanding. Like people want to have the last word. I definitely don’t have the last word.

All I can say is that as a father, each time I see news of another shooting, I am that much more nervous for my kids. My daughter is across the country in the military and I’m nervous about some disgruntled soldier opening fire. My son goes on a field trip and I worry that the train will derail.

Now, 104 families in Florida are splintered. Does it matter if it’s Obama’s fault, Islam’s fault, the gun manufacturers fault, etc.?

No, but that won’t stop people on Social Media from using this as an attention-getting event. It’s not about me or you.

It’s about the mom or dad at 2:30 am Sunday morning that can’t sleep and spend all night calling their kid at the club to see if they survived.

Nobody chooses to be a target.

‪#‎michaelessington‬ ‪#‎bornfrustrated‬

Leave a Reply

