Muhammad Ali

Sometime in the 80’s, there was a sports shop in the Valley that had cut a deal with Muhammad Ali. Ali would sign a few things every month and they’d split the profits.

I came home bummed, they had gloves, robes, trunks and I couldn’t afford any of it. My mom went to the shop a week or two later and asked if she could buy a signed picture. The shop owner contacted Ali and a day or so later my mom bought this and stuck it away until that Christmas.

One of the few things that I’ve always had. Most of my belongings have been lost, sold, stolen or given away. Ali has always moved with me.

#michaelessington #bornfrustrated

Leave a Reply

