Four Hours of Sleep

On Saturday night, I went to bed shortly after my daughter left my place. It was a goodbye of sorts as she flew to Oklahoma to start basic training in the army. Put my son to bed, I headed upstairs to bed myself. My wife stayed downstairs on her Kindle for a bit and said that she’d be up in a little while.

In bed, I picked up a book and tried to read. I glossed over the same page three times. I have no idea what I read. Picked up my phone, checked Facebook and looked at the latest releases on NetFlix. The wife came up and tucked herself in.

I got up and went back downstairs, turned on the cable and channel-surfed for hours. Ask The Dust, Eyes Wide Shut and a superhero flick I can’t recall.

I finally staggered into bed at around 4:00 or 4:30 a.m. Closed my eyes and at 7:45 I hear, “Hey, dad, let’s go to breakfast!” “Sure son. Let’s go.”

It finally dawned on me this morning. I’m not sad that my daughter shipped off to the military, I’m sad that she isn’t little anymore. I couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful, damn near, perfect little girl. And as I write this I’m a bit brokenhearted that she grew-up and started the grown-up portion of her life.

#michaelessington #bornfrustrated

Leave a Reply

