Project Mayhem

Over the past few months, I’ve been doing my own little “Project Mayhem.” Not blowing anything up or injuring anyone, but in a sort of passive-aggressive way, giving out free stuff at a big record shop in Hollywood. I have hundreds of albums, and every once in a while I’ll try to pare it down or search for doubles. If I have a double of a CD or DVD that I have burnt myself, I’ll leave it with the magazines in the shop.

With the economy the way it is, it’s my small way of giving people, music, and thumbing my nose at the over-priced crap that’s being sold at these shops.

When I go to this store I also load up the trunk with extra blankets and clothes, books and magazines, and my son and I distribute these things to the homeless in Hollywood. Occasionally, we’ll leave some of his extra toys at a shelter.

When you’re out of work, you become very aware of how difficult it is to take a step up, and how hard it is for people who have it harder than yourself. So, if you see a crazy guy with his son dumping free CD’s at Amoeba, take some.

‪#‎michaelessington‬ ‪#‎bornfrustrated‬

Leave a Reply

