Bowie

I remember a year or so back when Lou Reed died, I had a lump in my throat. Not so much because he was one of my favorite artists. More because that signaled the beginning of the end. The Era of truly original artists.

Bowie was truly one of the best artists that I’ve ever had the privilege of seeing. He spoke to me. In 1974 or 1975, I used to take my dad’s Diamond Dogs album and listen to it on repeat for days at a time. Not only did I love his music, but his ever changing persona resonated with me. I was a skinny kid with bad skin and shitty hair and Bowie showed me that you could invent yourself, you could be whatever you wanted to be. For a kid that didn’t fit in anywhere, he made me feel like us outsiders or weirdoes were actually the cool ones.

I hope as he passed on, he knew that there were armies of us that wouldn’t have had a place to fit in if it wasn’t for him and his music.

#michaelessington #misconceptionsofhell

Leave a Reply

